In The Garden

Hawk

The spring weather has been exceptionally beautiful over the past few days, which has led to me finally being able to go out and buy some herbs to start my garden for the year.

I don’t know what it is, but there’s something about wandering around and looking at plants that’s extremely relaxing. It wasn’t until just a few years ago that I started to fully appreciate plants and gardens. With my past few attempts of growing one, I’ve been able to see and learn how intricate they are.

Seriously though, what’s better than to be able to go outside and cut a few sprigs of fresh basil for pesto, or collect some mint for homemade ice cream?! Ah it’s perfect!

This all reminds me of Beatrix Potter and her garden stories. Now while I don’t have everything for my garden to be classified as a Beatrix Potter one, I do have a few plants/herbs that she mentioned in her books.

Lavender

Lavender’s scent is strong, but not overpowering. Sometimes when outside reading I’ll get a whiff of it, which is just divine.

Mint

If you want a herb that grows like crazy, this is what you need. I’ve never seen a plant grow so rapidly. Like what am I to do with all this spearmint?!  This year though I decided to go with orange mint, and it smells very citrusy (which it obviously should because it’s orange mint).

Oregano

This is one of the herbs that you always need to have on hand. It not only smells nice, but tastes great.

Lemon Balm

Ok, so I don’t actually have lemon balm, but I do have lemon basil, and let me tell you, lemon basil is the way to go. This has to be my favorite herb ever. It smells like lemon, and I don’t mean like a quick whiff of lemon, I mean it smells like a freshly cut lemon.

Dandelion

This just comes with a garden whether you like it or not, but while some may consider this a weed, dandelions kind of their own uniqueness. Or as A.A. Milne said, “Weeds are flowers too once you get to know them.”

Rose

This is probably one of the most popular flowers in the world, and rightly so. It’s a very intricate flower.

Of course, besides these, there are countless other plants and herbs Potter mentioned. But just like in her stories, you have to watch out for Squirrel Nutkin, Chippy Hackee, and the Flopsy Bunnies who think you planted a garden solely for them.

DSC07168 (1)

Leave a Reply

