Review: Memoirs of a Geisha

Image result for memoirs of a geisha book

 

Where do I even begin?! This book. I’m speechless.

Let me start by saying that I had heard about this book occasionally, but never really got around to reading it, until while at the library I saw it sitting on the shelf and was like why not?

I am so happy I did.

Memoirs of Geisha is set during the time before and after World War II. It tells about the life of Sayuri and how she came to be a geisha.

The story begins in her childhood and eventually works it way to show how she was sold into slavery  as a child. We then read of the struggles and hardships she goes through and how she works to overcome them.

If I hadn’t known this was a work of fiction, I would have assumed it was someone’s actual biography. The author writes from Sayuri’s perspective so perfectly and the other characters are just as well-developed. It’s as if I have actually met them, which makes these people  very memorable characters.

Likes

  1. Everything
  2. Ok, well everything might not be very helpful, but I would say one of my favorite things about this novel was how perfectly Golden wrote from the perspective of Sayuri and of the trials and pains she had to go through. It is just astounding how lifelike it was.
  3. Another thing I really enjoyed about this novel was the cultural insights. I felt like I learned quite a bit about Japanese culture and it intrigued my interest in it a lot.

Dislikes

  1. That it wasn’t longer
  2.  Really, there wasn’t much to dislike. The only part I think I was a little questioning of was towards the end when some character conflicts came up. I wish the reader maybe was told a little more into what might have caused that. But this just might be my immense curiosity.
  3. The ending did seem a little fast for me. Perhaps this was also just me and my not wanting the story to end, but it just seemed slightly fast.

 

Final Rating: 4.5/5 coffee mugs

fi

 

This bibliophile highly recommends Memoirs of a Geisha. If you’re looking for a book that creatively immerses you into a part of history and a culture, or even a romance novel that isn’t “over-the-top” romantic and with a slight twinge of sadness, I highly recommend you give this book a chance.

geisha


“This is why dreams can be such dangerous things: they smolder on like a fire does, and sometimes they consume us completely.”

Sayuri, Memoirs of a Geisha

 

Leave a Reply

