Review: The 100-Year- Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared

 

61xqvbnmd1l

I’ve been searching for some books to help me get through this miserable winter. This one was recommended as being “one you couldn’t put down”, so I decided to give it a try.

As I started to read, it immediately piqued my interest. Oh wow, this 100-year-old guy just climbed out a window and is off on an adventure. What could he possibly want to do? As the book progressed though, it became completely engrossing. I couldn’t put the book down and when I had too, I couldn’t wait to get back to reading it. Each chapter contained something new and exciting.

Written by Jonas Jonasson, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared  takes us on Allan Karlsson’s epic adventure through Sweden and history. The book is set in modern times, but also contains flashback chapters into Karlsson’s life.  I really enjoyed these flashback chapters and thought they were very creative.

Likes

As stated above, I thought the flashback chapters were brilliant! They added more excitement and background to the story.

I also enjoyed the characters. I thought they were well-developed and liked how they all uniquely contributed to the story.

Dislikes

While this was an enjoyable read, there were some aspects about it that were a little… meh.  While this is a work of fiction (and yes, anything is possibly in a fictional work) I felt like some parts of the story were a little too overly coincidental.

Also, Karlsson’s very calm and almost dismissive attitude towards major problems were a little irksome. He annoyed me in some scenes like how can he be so calm in this situation?! This is unhuman!  I wish he would have had a little more reaction towards things.

Final Rating: 4/5 coffee mugs

test

Overall, I thought this was a captivating  book. The headline that “this is one book you can’t put down” was true. If you’re looking for a good read and a story full of adventure and humor, this is your book.

Leave a Reply

